Steep but Fun

A year ago I joined a committee at my school to explore an iPad 1:1 pilot. My role was the tech rookie, representing tentative adopters of new technology. We researched and drafted a proposal that is now working its way through the funding and approval stages; if all goes well we’ll have iPads and training for all grade 10 teachers and students next fall.

Two months ago, as we were finishing the proposal, my administrator put a new iPad into my hands, and it revealed a whole new set of options and ideas for me. I saw a bit more clearly into the mobile world of my students and colleagues. I envisioned the boon a room full of iPads would be to PBL and In the Middle style workshops in my classroom.

Of course, I also recognized how little I know and how much I have to learn, which brings me to ETMOOC. Two months ago I’d never used a mobile device; now I’m using an iPad everyday in my classroom and next week I’m participating in my first MOOC. That’s quite the rollercoaster, and it’s only beginning! I like my learning and my rollercoasters the same way–the steeper the curves the greater the fun (and fear). That’s a combination for growth.

3 Comments

January 12, 2013 · 9:30 pm

3 responses to “Steep but Fun

  1. “I like my learning and my rollercoasters the same way–the steeper the curves the greater the fun (and fear). That’s a combination for growth.”
    like this quote. I am on the similar rollercoaster with you! enjoy!

  2. Cheers Scott! Thanks so much for your comments! I’m so excited to learn how the ipad has helped, transformed, supported your teaching in the classroom. I have one, but never used it in the classroom.
    Feel free to explore my classroom blogs – which are linked off my blog in the Blogroll. Here in Alberta – 30-1 = Grade 12 University bound, 20-1 = Grade 11, and 10-1 = Grade 10. Happy searching!

Leave a Reply

